I’m in the beautiful city of Ljubljana (Slovenia) discussing dementia for the next few days. I haven’t posted for a long time as I was in the seemingly never-ending stages of completing my PhD, then full time back in clinical life as a neurology registrar and carrying on with my research in may so-called ‘spare time’ (quite apart from family life and moving house). I’m currently very lucky to be working at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery at Queen Square in London.

However, I’m taking a few days’ break from pacing the wards and clinics to talk dementia strategies and policy at the Alzheimer Europe meeting here in Ljubljana. I’ve wandered round the city taking a few photos (still on film, so nothing to post here I’m afraid! – medium format film with the Lomography Belair X for the camera geeks) and I’m settled in a small but comfortable hotel room.

I’m here as part of the Young Leaders in Dementia Care and Research group. There are about 40 of us from around Europe who met up in London earlier this year, and some of us will be meeting again at this meeting. Similar meetings were held in other continents. We’re hoping to form a group of more junior researchers, medics, carers, charity workers, psychologists etc to come together and have a global voice in dementia strategies, as well as encouraging people to spend their careers being interested in dementia.

I’ll write a bit each evening about what I’ve been up to and my thoughts on the day. It’s been so long since I’ve posted here, so I hope a few of you readers will make sure I stick to it!

