In September this year I will be tackling 24 peaks in the Lake District in 24 hours of walking to raise money for the PSP Association. The PSP Association provides day-to-day support and funds research for Progressive Supranuclear Palsy (PSP) and Corticbasal Degeneration (CBD).

I’ve been carrying out research and meeting people in clinic and at public meetings with PSP and CBD over the last 3 and a half years. I’ve learnt so much and gained so much experience that I think it’s about time I gave a little something back. I love the Lake District, and I love walking up hills, so why not combine these passions with some fundraising?

I’ve started preparations. It was with great sadness I have parted with my old walking boots (pictured here).

My old, battered walking boots

My old, battered walking boots

They have done me proud for over 10 years, 4 continents and countless miles – and they only cost me 15 quid. Fortunately the January sales threw up a half price pair of shiny new walking boots, just about the closest I could find to my old pair.

I’m planning to keep you all up-to-date over the coming months with my practice walks and the final stages of my PhD thesis (more soon – and the reason this blog has been quiet for the last few months!).

Please, please, think about supporting me. Either with an encouraging comment below to help me up the hills, or by sponsoring me at: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/TimRittman

