I’ve won something! For the first time ever I actually won a proper prize. OK, so only 7 people actually entered, but I’m still pretty pleased. It was for the best first year PhD report at the Brain Repair Centre here in Cambridge. The prize is named the Imogen Rose prize, in memory of the daughter of one of our PIs who was killed in a car accident a few years ago.

The prize comes with a handsome £100 of Amazon vouchers. Dilemma. Do I spend all the money on series of House? Or do I spend it on academic related books which I’ll add to the pile of 4-5 work-related books I haven’t had time to read in the last year? Well, given the origin of the money I’d feel bad spending it on non-work stuff, and I suppose the idea is that this enables me to extend my academic work. I was thinking of about a 90/10 split in favour of work-related content.

Perhaps what will happen is what ‘she who must be obeyed’ predicts: I’ll find something I ‘have to have’ for work that costs about £200 and end up spending far more than I intended. We’ll see…

